Friendship is Magic

One of the early-warning hints that I was neurodivergent should probably have included the fact that I used to watch My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic. Lessons about female friendship targeted at toddlers and tweens made so much sense, and when I put those lessons into practice I was told that I was a great friend. Finally! I thought, I found the answer!! I only had trouble making friends because nobody explained The Rules!!

So, I dutifully followed The Rules for about 10 years. I showed up to friends’ birthday parties, I told them that I valued them, I listened to their interests and hobbies, I communicated my values and we learned things together. I celebrated their wins and commiserated their losses. I gave up free time to do things that were inconvenient but important. I invested a lot of time and effort into being a Good Friend, just like the show had taught me.

So, naturally, I was excited for my 30th birthday. It was a BIG milestone, the first since I had been following The Rules of Friendship. My 18th and 21st were a bit lonely, and I had attributed it to not having been a very good friend to others leading up to those events. I figured it was the consequences of my own actions so I took it on the chin, straightened myself out, and started doing better. So, it was finally my turn! I could plan a little party, celebrate my wins, and my friends would be there with me to make it a wonderful time!

Or…so I thought.

I planned out a little gathering, made invites, planned to get drinks and a small cake, and catch up with some close friends. These people were the ones I was most in-contact with. I had been following all the Rules of Friendship with them, so it seemed obvious to invite them to something I wanted to celebrate. That’s what friends are for!

Everything seemed fine until the week before when I was confirming RSVP’s and about to pay for all the things I needed.

I hadn’t invited many people. When you have a kid it’s hard to maintain decent friendships with a lot of people, so I had focused my time on a handful of people I thought were close friends. It seemed equitable to put time and energy into fewer people because then it would be more meaningful.

When my confirmation-message got a “oh, I had planned something else that day…” and “oh, yeah! I totally forgot about that party, sorry,” the small guest list dwindled from 4 people to zero.

At first I was unsurprised. This was precisely how every birthday since my 17th had gone. No enthusiasm, no interest, and nobody else prioritizing something that was important to me. Low-key didn’t mean low-value; I just cherished the small gatherings. The pizza-movie-night, or the bubble-tea get-togethers. Once I had some time to sit and process my feelings I began to feel upset. Really upset.

I had been a much better friend the past decade. I followed ALL of ‘the rules’. I didn’t even expect reciprocation for years; I just showed up to people’s houses with a bottle of wine and some support when they needed it. I attended their birthday parties while struggling with postpartum recovery. I drove for hours to visit people just because it was a good time to do so, despite the inconvenience. At no point did I expect praise or even an equivalent show of friendship (though, it would have been nice). I just did it, because that’s what good friends do. This was the one thing I was requesting from people; to show up to a small party I was throwing. They had expressed interest a month ago, but now couldn’t be bothered to even remember it was happening.

That really, really hurt. It made me re-evaluate my priorities. How could I be friends with people who were so careless? I had two friends who had very good reasons for not being able to attend (one is the mother of a small baby on the other side of the country, the other is moving to a new rental in another state, so the long and expensive flight wasn’t going to be possible either way). Their apologies were accompanied with a birthday gift. I hadn’t asked for a gift, they just sent one. Those two friends followed all the Rules of Friendship, precisely as I had expected from my research and practice. So, clearly, I hadn’t misunderstood anything – because at least two people were capable of demonstrating it back to me.

Since my diagnosis I have reflected on life experiences with a new lens, and what I see when I look back with new-lenses just makes me sad. That perhaps, all this time, my ‘friends’ have seen how awkward I am and used it as a leverage point to take advantage of me. Because if I’m a bit socially unaware maybe I’ll not notice being deliberately excluded from things, and not treated as an equal.

I didn’t miss it. I was just so hurt I couldn’t bring it up without crying. So rather than make a scene in public I just drifted out of their lives completely.

They’re the bad friends this time, not me. I might not be a perfect person but when I was asked to, I showed up. When it was expected of me, I gave support. I even offered support and encouragement as a proactive measure, when I noticed someone was struggling.

Friendship might be magic but I’m currently struggling to see its value in a world that isn’t interested in participating.

So, I’ll spend my 30’s hustling. Work has been more rewarding lately, anyway. I have my husband, and my kid, and I’m used to being a bit lonely all the time. It’s nice when my partner is home but with them at work I need to fill my time with something.

Happy Birthday to me, I have so many things to celebrate but precious few to celebrate it with. I’ll raise a cup of bubble tea with my partner and do something quiet again this year. Friendship can be magic, but only if you foster it with the right people.

Published by MK

Find me on Twitter on request

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started